When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

28458598Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right?

Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself.

The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not?

Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

     -Goodreads

Happy Monday y’all!

It is officially August and I head back to school in two weeks (AHHHHHHH!). But all that means is that I have to finish all of the books I have been procrastinating to pick up for the past three months, because I can assure you, they will not be conquered over the fall….

But on to more important things, such as how I devoured When Dimple Met Rishi!!!! I bought this book back in June when it released, and over July I finally had the time to read it. I can’t tell you enough how much this book deserves a rave review.

Here are some of the things I LERVED about it:

  1. It followed a young women pursuing STEM! I’m entering my senior year of high school and I am currently pursuing Electrical Engineering, so it was great to connect with a protagonist who is struggling the same way I am. Sandhya Menon definitely had an informed perspective on tackling STEM as a girl.
  2. The book is told in dual perspectives, so not only do you get to gush about Rishi with Dimple, you get to hear from Rishi and all of his sweetness!!!!!!!
  3. Although it touched on STEM (science, tech, engineering, and math), the book never bored me. (P.S. Even though I love all things PHYSICS and PROGRAMMING, I can only take enough jibber jabber about it:))

For the first time in a while, there wasn’t anything that bothered me. I give this read a 5/5, pat on the back, two thumbs up! (And if you follow my reviews, you know this book must be legendary for a 5/5 star rating.)

If any of you have any recommendations for books to read following WDMR, lmk in the comments below! Here in Chicago it is sunny and a bit chilly (my favorite weather ensemble)…. which means that I am in the mood to read…. and devour as many novels as possible….

 

XXXXX always, N

 

P. S. A Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone review will be up soon hopefully! I am half way through my first read of Harry Potter’s adventures in book one.

Leave a Reply

