Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

32078787.jpgLouna, daughter of famed wedding planner Natalie Barrett, has seen every sort of wedding: on the beach, at historic mansions, in fancy hotels and clubs. Perhaps that’s why she’s cynical about happily-ever-after endings, especially since her own first love ended tragically. When Louna meets charming, happy-go-lucky serial dater Ambrose, she holds him at arm’s length. But Ambrose isn’t about to be discouraged, now that he’s met the one girl he really wants. 

Sarah Dessen’s many, many fans will adore her latest, a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story that has everything—humor, romance, and an ending both happy and imperfect, just like life itself.

-Goodreads

Happy Summer everyone!

We are back from our junior year break. I deeply apologize for being MIA, but I can assure you at least two book reviews per week will be posted for the rest of summer here. I am so happy to be back reviewing!

Now, it’s time for my first review of June. I’ve been waiting for Once and For All for months now, as Sarah Dessen never fails to WOW me, and I’m so happy that I got to finally binge read it!

Once and For All follows a young girl, Louna, who works under her mother in her wedding planning business. At one of the many chaotic weddings, Louna meets Ambrose: a free-spirit who makes Louna itch in every scenario. After Ambrose’s mother weds to a third husband, Louna is tasked with planning the rest of the Natalie Barrett Weddings of the summer… with Ambrose by her side.

I’ll get right into the likes and dislikes!!!

What I LURVED about Dessen’s most recent publication:

  1. Louna was nothing like your average contemporary character. Her fresh insight and struggles kept me reading through out my entire binge! The worst thing that an author can do is create a static, dull character. Dessen strayed away from anything of this sort (as ALWAYS!).
  2. The story didn’t follow a perfect couple- with the perfect beginning, middle and end. Relationships are hard work. I was thrilled that Dessen addressed this in OAFA.
  3. MINI SPOILER ALERT: Dessen highlights a tragic reality- school shootings- in such a honest manner. The way she weaved this narrative was incredible.
  4. THIS NOVEL WAS SUCH A FUN SUMMER READ!!! (AND BOY DO I LOVE FUN SUMMER READS:))

What I DIDNT LURVE about Dessen’s most recent publication:

  1. Ambrose and Louna make a bet. It stands as a major plot point and brings progression to the characters as people in the novel. It didn’t feel like the bet was really incorporated into the plot well. I just wish the idea had a larger significance for the characters and their growth.

That’s it! The pros definitely outweigh the cons, here! I really think that Dessen has raised the bar with this one on originality. I give it two thumbs up and a big smile! Let me know if you all have been reading OAFA and what you think about it.

Cheers!!!
N

Leave a Reply

