The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

sky_375wSeventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

-Goodreads

Hey fellow everyone!

So it’s been a while since I had the chance to blog! I have lots to catch up on, since I finally finished draft TWO of my book! Kelly is going to read it ASAP and give me feedback, so I can continue editing the crap out of it!

Between hours of edits, I was able to read this beautiful book, The Sky is Everywhere, my first read from Jandy Nelson, even though Kelly has been raving about I’ll Give You the Sun since it was published. So here we go… review time!

The Sky is Everywhere follows a teenage girl, Lennie, who is in the midst of mourning her sister’s death when she meets the new boy in band, Joe. Joe is perfect for Lennie. They share a love for music, he is super cute, and she feels like she can escape her past when she’s with him.

The only issue is that she’s been secretly seeing her dead sister’s boyfriend.

I figured when I started this book I would totally hate Lennie for being selfish enough to see her sister’s boyfriend. I was wrong.

The voice in this book was written so well and was entirely true to Lennie’s life. I’ve been told so many great things about the way Nelson tells this story and I am in complete agreement. It tells the story of two people who are mourning the loss of a loved one in an entirely twisted scenario, but is written so eloquently I have to mourn with them.

I connected with Lennie, not because I have dated my sister’s boyfriend (lol), but because I could almost feel the underlying pain coming off the pages.

Lastly, I loved the setting Lennie’s story was told in. Lennie’s mother left her and her sister, Bailey, when they were little, and so she is living with her grandmother and uncle as this all goes down. Their perspectives and insight to Lennie were a crucial part to the story. I got quite a few laughs.

Despite being frustrated on multiple occasions for Lennie’s actions, I really liked the story Jandy Nelson told. I would easily recommend it to anyone looking for a meaningful read.

4.5/5 stars!!! Give this book a shot.

XOXO, N

P.S. Who’s ready for some AWESOME reads in 2017?!?!

Leave a Reply

