YA Fandom Frenzy

Hey everyone!!

IMG_1710.JPGYA Fandom Frenzy is a book convention that is ran by my local bookstore, Anderson’s Bookshop. Anderson’s Bookshop has been around for more than 50 years, and there are currently three locations. The newest location, which has been around for a little over a year, is one mile from my house. I absolutely LOVE the store because of the merchandise, how close it is to my house, and the abundance of signings that are held there. I was able to go to a signing for Sabaa Tahir, Leigh Bardugo, Adam Silvera, and David Arnold all in September. It was a great month!!

YA Fandom Frenzy brings together almost 40 wonderful authors to spend the day with teen readers. Unfortunately, N was unable to come with me because she had work, so I went unaccompanied.

When I walked into the convention, there were table everywhere where some people had began to seat themselves. I saw a group of friendly girls, and decided to sit down at their table. I am so glad I did because the girls were all so fun and welcoming.

Every author was assigned to a table of readers. The author of 26 Kisses, Anna Michels, was assigned to our table. I sat next to her, so I was able to talk to her about publishing. Since Nora is in the process of editing her book, and will soon transition to finding a literary agent, Anna told me a lot about her experience publishing her book. It was so nice talking to her!

When the event started, we did speed dating. Every author was given three minutes to talk about themselves and their book. Some of the authors were absolutely hilarious. I was laughing so hard for the majority of the time.

Before lunch, there were a couple of rounds of “would you rather.” Some of the topics were “eat double stuffed oreos or vanilla oreos” and “chose narwhals or unicorns.” The authors also had to talk about their worst haircut. I absolutely loved this, it was so funny listening to them!!

During lunch, we were able to eat and go to the bookstore. As you all know me, I went into the bookstore with my wallet in hand and ready to buy the whole place. I bought four books: Holding Up the Universe, All the Bright Places (which I had already read), Our Chemical Hearts, and The Serpent King. I cannot wait to read them!!

After lunch we finished up the speed dating with the authors that had not yet spoken, and then we started the Book Trivia Challenge!! This was one of my favorite parts, some of the rounds included “name the book based on these emojis” and “which actor played in both of these movies based on books.” Our team didn’t win, but we had a great time!!

After all the games were over, it was SIGNING TIME!!! I jumped out of my seat and made my way to have my books signed!

The first person who signed my book was Traci Chee, the author of The Reader. I brought my arc I got at BookCon, and we chatted about the hidden messages in the book. Traci was one of the nicest authors I have ever met, I am so glad I was able to speak with her!

I also was able to speak to Paula Stokes, who wrote Girl Against The Universe, and many other popular titles. Paula Stokes is very important to N, as N decided to write her book after reading Girl Against the Universe!! Paula Stokes was so nice, and she loved hearing how her book inspired Nora to write her own YA contemporary novel.

I then spoimg_1679ke with Krystal Sutherland, the author of Our Chemical Hearts!! I had been waiting for this book to come out for a couple of months, and I was overjoyed to be able to speak with Krystal. Krystal is from Australia, and her accent was the coolest thing!

Next I spoke to Jeff Zentner, the author of The Serpent King. Jeff was so welcoming, and he explained a quote from the book for me. Talking to him was a highlight of my day!

 

img_1683The second to last author I spoke to was Jennifer Niven. When I spoke to Jennifer, I gushed to her how good All the Bright Places was for me and how it has helped so many readers like myself! Jennifer was so kind, she asked that I sign her book while she signed mine. I asked to take a picture with her, and she was ecstatic! After our picture, she asked if we could take a selfie, AND SHE ENDED UP POSTING IT ON INSTAGRAM!! I was so excited when I saw myself on her account! Jennifer is the best!

 

 

img_1682The last person I spoke to was Julie Buxbaum. I started off by telling her how much I love Tell Me Three Things, and how it is one of my favorite books of the year. I then went on to tell her how I was a bookblogger, and whenever someone asks for a contemporary recommendation, Tell Me Three Things is my response! We also were able to take a photo! As I started to walk away, she sincerely thanked me for spreading the word about her book, and asked that I continue to advocate for Tell Me Three Things. Speaking to Julie was probably my favorite signing!!

 

Well, there you go, that was a very long post to a very great day. Soon after the signings finished, I left YA Fandom Frenzy, sad that I would have to wait another year to experience such a great day!

Thanks for listening everyone, I had a great time gushing about a wonderful day. I am still experiencing fandom frenzy withdrawals : (…..

I feel absolutely horrible for being so inactive on our website. I have been incredibly busy this past month between classes and our bookstagram. If you guys follow onebooktwogirls on instagram, you would see that I post every other day, and am constantly responding to messages. It sometimes is hard to put away time to get on my computer and blog to you all. I am incredibly sorry for this, but I promise that I will start posting weekly here to you all. Thanks for all the support guys : )!!!

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

