Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Ke23437156tterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…
A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes. 

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Goodreads

Hey everyone!

It has been quite a while since I have been able to write to you all. This past month has been very crazy for me. I started my junior year of high school, where I find myself taking 5 AP classes (I know, I am CRAZY). I find myself having to stay up until 12:30am on week nights just to get to read, and I think all of you book lovers will agree with the saying “read more, sleep less!” As some of you know, I am a cross country runner at my school. At the beginning of my season (and the school year), I got pretty sick. Last year I was out of school for 6 weeks because of pneumonia, and did some pretty bad lung damage. The lung damage came back to haunt me at the first week of practice, and because of my sickness my doctor advised that I quite cross country and run on my own (at a non-competitive level). This is why I have left you all for such a long time. I am super sorry, but am BEYOND happy to be back writing to you all about the wonderful books I have read on my leap of absence. Thank you for being so understanding!

N&I each plan on bringing you one blog post per week, whether it be a dual review, an inside look at an author event, or a monthly wrap-up/book haul. It’s time to GET EXCITED!!

now forget about me, let’s talk about this AMAZING book!!

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo is the book that got me into my August fantasy-filled book binge. I always thought that I wasn’t a big fantasy reader, but in this past month I have become a new person (who LOVES fantasy)!!

Here’s what I LOVE about Six of Crow:

This book is absolutely B E A U T I F U L. The chapter titles had the perfect little drawings. The sides of the pages were panted black, which fit the book wonderfully. The presentation truly brought the book to life.

I am usually not the biggest fan of a book that follows multiple perspectives, but this book left me feeling different. I often find myself overwhelmed by hearing from multiple characters, but hearing from each character helped develop such an interesting plot. I began to fall in love with each and every character.

The flashbacks within Six of Crows helped the plot tremendously. Without these snippets to the past, I wouldn’t have been able to understand the multiple relationships within the story. Another reason why I am a huge fan of flashbacks is because I love getting to know the young and naive version of a character. Seeing a character grow is what makes books wonderful!

Kaz is such a sweetheart. He has such a tough personality on the outside, but as the reader gets to know him, we can see that this shell he creates is just to protect himself from being hurt.

Each and every character within Six of Crows was crafted to perfection. I feel like I got a little of everything by reading this story.

The contrast between Kaz & Inej’s relationship versus Nina and Matthias was a really cool piece of this book. Thanks Leigh!!

Now that you all understand my crazy love of this book, here is what I didn’t like as much:

I feel like the ending wasn’t placed in the right spot. I do not know how to explain this feeling, but I felt like I needed a little more from this book (maybe that’s why there is a second book coming)!

My only other complaint is that this book is a DUOLOGY. I really wish that this book were a trilogy, but maybe I am asking too much of Leigh.

I am SOOO excited for Crooked Kingdom which is being released in late September. I have tickets for a signing to meet Leigh Bardugo, and I can’t wait (I follow Leigh on instagram and her stories are beyond hilarious)!!

I hope I have convinced you all to pick up a copy of this magnificent book! I can’t explain how happy I am to be back and writing to you all, thank you to everyone for all the support:)

Until next time,

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

