The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Choksi

Unknown.jpegFate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself. 

Goodreads

Hi everyone, happy Wednesday!

I am still sick, and with sickness comes tea, tissues, and READING! I have spent the past couple of days reading some WONDERFUL books. One of the few books I have had the pleasure to read is The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Choksi. I really enjoyed this book; I find myself giving this book 80% praise and 20% displeasure…

Therefore, I would like to begin with why I really loved reading this story.

From the first sentence of this story to its last, the writing was incredibly vivid. Each and every word was placed perfectly, and every sentence flowed into the next. I have never read a book with such beautiful writing. Roshani Choksi has a way with words, no doubt.

The world building within this novel is unheard of. As Maya finds her way through Bharata, Akaran, and the Otherworld, I saw everything she saw. I felt as though I was with Maya. As I said before, Roshani is an incredibly descriptive writer, and this quality most certainly enhanced Maya’s story.

In the story, Maya is forced to chose the fait of many people’s future. She is given a vision of two possible outcomes, and Maya has to chose which is better for the society as a whole. I enjoyed seeing Maya’s trust in Amar (Maya’s husband), transform into confidence within herself.

I found myself intrigued by the relationship between Amar and Maya. Maya was immediately fascinated by Amar the moment she set her eyes on him. On the other hand, Amar looks at Maya as if he has loved her for his entire life. The two characters where so captivated by one another, and I loved following their journey together.

Gauri, Maya’s half-sister, and Maya, share a strong bond. Gauri seems to be the only thing that holds Maya back from leaving Bharata. I always love a good “big sister, little sister” relationship within a story. These two reminded me so much of Katniss and Prim (from The Hunger Games).

Roshani Choksi was able to create not only one, but two villains within The Star-Touched Queen. At the beginning of the story, I thought Mother Dhina would be the only villain within the story; however, another character finds their way into becoming an antagonist.

The title The Star-Touched Queen ties in perfectly with the book. I absolutely adore authors who wrap the title within the story!!

As you have seen, I have a lot to say about this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, but with most books come critiques, so here are mine:

For the first half of the book, their seemed to be a lack of plot. Wherever Maya went, she spent most of her time meandering hallways, investigating unseen terrain. I just wish more went on within the first half of the book.

Throughout the book, Maya comes in and out of the future. I found myself slightly confused because of this. I had to go back and reread paragraphs various times in order to clarify what happened.

My last complaint: Maya seems to believe everything people tell her. When Amar asked her to leave Bharata after just meeting him, she completely trusts him. Maya also finds herself trusting Nritti without any questions asked. This slightly bothered me.

I hope you all can take my critiques with a grain of salt, as I very much enjoyed this book. I can really tell if I enjoyed a book by my anticipation for the sequel to come out. With this story, I cannot wait for book #2, which is taken from the perspective of Guari. I am really anxious, yet excited, to get to know Guari on a more personal level.

If you are in a fantasy mood, you need to run to your local library/bookstore to pick up a copy of The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Choksi. This book has become one of my favorite fantasy stories of the year.

I would love to hear what you all have to think of this book. I have heard a lot of mixed reviews; therefore, I am open to all criticism.

Thanks for listening,

Sincerely, K

Leave a Reply

