The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead

IMG_1364Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric
Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…

-Goodreads

27272506Hey everyone!

It’s been nine days since I last posted, I think?? I’m sorry about that. I’ve been so busy with the Bookstagram launch!!! (Check it out on instagram @onebooktwogirls …)

I still did read a lot, though! The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead was one of my conquests. I really enjoyed the book, even though there were some mixed reviews. I’ve never read any of Richelle’s work, so I guess I should try out her other work to see if that is why people were disappointed with this one.

Recently, I have been reading a lot of fantasy, and this book was a great choice out of my tbr pile to add to the list. The book spanned over about two years, plus or minus a few months, and I thought it was cool that so much time had passed since she left her home to find a new one.

I am just going to jump right into all of the things I liked about it!

I connected with the main character, Adelaide, a lot, which was awesome, and I felt like she was a really determined, wise, and convincing young woman. I appreciated that she stood up for herself from the beginning of her story on, and adored that she stayed true to herself until the end of the book. There were a few scenes where I was like, WHAT ARE YOU DOING???!!!!, but then I got over it and moved on to the next obstacle. (There were a lot of them!!!)

The Glittering Court reminded me so much of The Selection series, which was my favorite series through out middle school and the start to high school, so I was excited to feel the same way with Adelaide as I had with America back in the day…

Lastly, I was surprised that I didn’t see the plot twist coming, which was INCREDIBLE because I haven’t had that happen to me in a long time.

A few things bugged me, but didn’t stop me from giving this book a hug after I devoured it in two sittings.

The book had two big plot points, and I felt like it would have been better if it was split into two separate books. I understand that Richelle is planning on two more books, each with different perspectives than the first, but I still felt like there were TWO climax points. Just a thought…

Also, I didn’t go for the fact that Cedric called her Adelaide when he knew her real identity. I understand that they had to keep it quiet, but even after they were separate from the rest of the world, he called her Adelaide, which bothered me. Again, small details.

That’s a wrap!

I hope you all enjoy the rest of the weekend and read the days away…

Sincerely, N

Leave a Reply

