Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

IMG_1021.jpg“I made the wrong choice.”

Lina is spending the summer in Tuscany, but she isn’t in the mood for Italy’s famous sunshine and fairy-tale landscape. She’s only there because it was her mother’s dying wish that she get to know her father. But what kind of father isn’t around for sixteen years? All Lina wants to do is get back home.

But then she is given a journal that her mom had kept when she lived in Italy. Suddenly Lina’s uncovering a magical world of secret romances, art, and hidden bakeries. A world that inspires Lina, along with the ever-so-charming Ren, to follow in her mother’s footsteps and unearth a secret that has been kept for far too long. It’s a secret that will change everything she knew about her mother, her father—and even herself.

People come to Italy for love and gelato, someone tells her, but sometimes they discover much more. 

Goodreads

25756328.jpgHappy almost Friday everyone!

I hope your week has treated you well! I was able to read Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch a little while back, and I am FINALLY able to rave about this wonderful book!

This book may have to be one of my favorite contemporary books, I enjoyed it SO much!

Here is what I loved:

Right after I read the synopsis of this book, I was hooked. The idea of moving to a foreign country after the death of your mother with a father you have never met (wow that is quite the mouthful) intrigued me.

The uniqueness of the storyline really reflects on the plot. So much went on in the story; I was on the edge of my seat at all times.

Lina’s mom leaves behind a notebook chronicling her adventures in Sicily before Lina was born. Lina spends her time trying to figure out how Lina came to know Howard (her father). I loved this mysterious aspect to the story. What did Lina’s mother do in Italy so long ago? Maybe if you read the book you will find out!

I think Lina’s strong connection with her mother is what kept Lina connected to finding the truth behind her mother’s time in Italy. I always love a good mother-daughter relationship within a book, and this story definitely had one.

Lina’s friends were awesome! I really wanted to be friends with them, and the adorability of Ren (Lina’s love interest) made me continue to feel this way.

Being that the story takes place in Sicily, Italy, it is super cool following Lina’s journey through such a beautiful city. Jenna Evans Welch made sure to include MANY iconic landmarks within the story. I felt like I was in Italy as I read the book.

What I disliked:

I am having a hard time coming up with a complaint from the story. It was so good. I don’t hand out many 4.5 stars to books, but this book definitely deserves it!

If you are looking for a lighthearted contemporary read, you need to read this book!

Thanks for listening,

Sincerely, K

 

One thought on “Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch

Leave a Reply

