K’s July Wrap-Up

Happy Tuesday (and AUGUST) everyone!!

IMG_1243I hope you guys are having a great week so far. I am really excited for August (the conclusion to a great summer and a fresh start to school); however, July was a month for the books (when it comes to my reading). I read TWELVE books (I have placed them chronologically from beginning-end of month):

  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (Review in K’s Corner)
  2. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han (I have not been able to post my review yet)
  3. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson (I Finished this on Sunday, I plan on posting a review later this week. Get ready for this review, it’s gonna be great).
  4. Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch (My review will be coming soon!)
  5. 99 Days by Katy Cotugno
  6. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken
  7. Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
  8. Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum
  9. When We Collided by Emery Lord
  10. Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh
  11. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick
  12. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

I feel like I have had a pretty great reading month, don’t you guys think?! Now let’s get to what books I liked, disliked, and am still thinking about (bc some were so good)!

My favorites of July:

Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson may have been one of the best books I have ever read. I finished reading this right before midnight on Sunday, and I am beyond happy that I got to end July on a great note (with a great read). My review should be posted within a week (I have a lot of previous reviews to post). If you are looking for a moving story, this is the book for you.

Love and Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch came right behind Speak. It was such an original and lighthearted story filled with mystery. I love a good puzzle story, and this book definitely had me putting pieces together.

IMG_1280 I really enjoyed Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh (visit my review for more comments).

I also fell head over heals for Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum (y’all need to see my review on this WONDERFUL novel).

I also fell in love with Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo (review coming soon). I am meeting Leigh in September and I CANNOT wait.

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (visit review) were really awesome as well.

I could go on and on, but I think that you guys get that I had a wonderful reading month.

What I disliked:

I do not think I have disliked a book as much as I disliked 99 Days by Katy Cotugno. Every character was unlikeable, and the amount of unnecessary drama killed me. I hate it when I come across a book I loathe so much (and I hate being so harsh). For this reason, I chose not to review 99 Days.

I was very surprised to see that I disliked When We Collided by Emery Lord. I thought I would love this contemporary, but I did not. I plan on putting together a short post covering my thoughts on this novel.

THIS MONTH WAS CRAZY PEOPLE. Here is what I have been up to:

  1. It is summer. every summer my family goes on vacation. This year we went to the east coast, and I spent the beginning of July out of town.
  2. I am a cross country runner; therefore, I have tried to get myself out of bed every morning at 6:30 am to train. I know. I’m crazy.
  3. IMG_0820I am going to be a junior this coming year; therefore the stress of the SAT/ACT/SAT subject tests has risen exponentially. I have spent many days and nights at my local Starbucks studying for these scary (yet kind of exciting) tests.
  4. You all can probably tell that I spent a lot of July reading… 12 books YIKES.
  5. One of the more exciting occurrences of July 2016, onebooktwogirls came to bookstagram!! N and I decided that after more than two months of blogging, joining bookstagram was the right place for us. We are so excited, follow us @onebooktwogirls

That’s basically what I did. It was a pretty hectic (and FUN) month. I cannot wait for more good times (and good reads) in August.

Did you guys read anything good in July? Recommendations? Let me know, I think my tbr pile could use some more friends : )

Thanks for listening (and HAPPY AUGUST)

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

