K’s Take On Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

Taylor EUnknown.jpegdwards’ family might not be the closest-knit—everyone is a little too busy and overscheduled—but for the most part, they get along just fine. Then Taylor’s dad gets devastating news, and her parents decide that the family will spend one last summer all together at their old lake house in the Pocono Mountains.

ly gone anywhere. Her former best friend is still around, as is her first boyfriend…and he’s much cuter at seventeen than he was at twelve.Crammed into a place much smaller and more rustic than they are used to, they begin to get to know each other again. And Taylor discovers that the people she thought she had left behind haven’t actual

As the summer progresses and the Edwards become more of a family, they’re more aware than ever that t
hey’re battling a ticking clock. Sometimes, though, there is just enough time to get a second chance—with family, with friends, and with love.

Goodreads

Hey guys, happy Thursday (one day until friday)!

I am so excited, this is N&I’s second dual review! This may seem crazy, but N and I never seem to be
eading the same book, which makes dual reviews MUCH harder! We both have such long TBR piles, and our goal is to bring more dual reviews to you guys in the near future!!

You all probably know my love of Morgan Matson and her books. Her writing is so lighthearted, every time I pick up one of her books I am always up until 2am finishing them! I knew I had to try out Second Chance Summer when I had the chance, so that is what i did!

As usual, first I would like to start with what I loved:

Morgan Matson has a gift of developing her characters. In the beginning of the book, Taylor (the protagonist of the story), sees herself as inferior to her other siblings. They all have talents of their own; whereas, Taylor is unaware of where she belongs in the world. As the book progresses, I was able to see how Taylor gathers confidence and identity.
Within Second Chance Summer, there are flashbacks to the previous summers spent up at their lake house. The last summer she spent up at the lake, five years ago, Taylor has a falling out with her best friend and first boyfriend. Throughout the book, there is a constant mystery to what happened that summer. I loved this aspect of the book; the mystery kept me glued to the story.

Morgan Matson’s book tend to be on the longer side: 450-550 pages. They all share one thing in comm0n: rich details that allow the reader to really get to know the protagonist. Morgan has a gift of developing the settings within her books. I found myself wherever Taylor
was. Nestled in my bed, I was taken into a different world; I loved this.

Before the story begins, Taylor’s dad receives a diagnosis of stage four cancer, giving him three months to live. This is the culprit to the summer spent up at the lake. Throughout the book, Taylor has to deal with the soon departure of her father. Morgan Matson does a terrific job in teaching her reading audience about grieving and loss. Taylor knows her dad will soon pass away; therefore, she has to grieve his death while he is STILL alive. I cannot imagine going through something like this; however, Morgan develops Taylor’s feelings in a way that makes me understand what Taylor is feeling.

I really
enjoyed this book, but here is what I disliked:

For such a long story, there seemed to be a lack of plot. You would think such a long story would have a LOT of plot going on, but this one did not.

Guys, I LOVE Morgan Matson’s stories. This may not have been my favorite of hers, but I still truly enjoyed it. If Morgan writes it, I’ll read it. Any day.

Wh
at did you guys think of Second Chance Summer? Any recommendations? Let me know, I’d love to hear them!!

Until next time (I LOVE dual reviews)

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

