The Boy Most Likey To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

theboymostlikelyto-308x465Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To:

– find the liquor cabinet blindfolded
– need a liver transplant
– drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To:
– well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falli
ng for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should
have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this return to the world of My Life Next Door is a story about failing first, trying again, and having to decide whether to risk it all once more. 

Goodreads

Happy Monday everyone!

I hope all of your summers are going well! Although they can get quite busy and hectic, the time flies, right?

I was super sick last week so I got to read a few books (the perks of illness!!!), and I picked this one off of my shelf because I am a HUGE Fitzpatrick fan. Her first book, My Life Next
Door
, was an absolute hit across the board, and I heard that this book is almost like a sequel to the first.

I want to say I loved The Boy Most Likely To as much as I did her first, but unfortunately, I don’t think I can:(.

When I heard that she wrote this one, I was super excited because the characters were so exciting and original in the first book and the way it was written felt effortless. Although The Boy Most Likely To was definitely a hit at the bookstores, I think it may only be because it follows the same family as My Life Next Door.

I will give Fitzpatrick credit in that it was clever that she chose two new characters to focus on that appeared in the first book and took it in an entirely new direction. The only complaint I have is that I think the only reason she wrote this one was to keep the story alive after it did so well. When I look back at reading about Tim and Alice in My Life Next
Door,
 there were no hints at a budding romance. It was sort of out of the blue.

Despite all of this, there were tons of things I liked about the book!

The humor picked up right where it left off with the Garrett family! I loved hearing from George and Patsy again.

Additionally, it was cool to see the dynamic of the two main characters, Sam and Jase, from My Life Next Door.

Also, the many obstacles alcoholics face were brought to the table in this book and I think this book sent a great message to YA readers about the dangers of alcoholism.

Now, there were a few things I didn’t like.

I felt like the characters weren’t really dynamic, which is kind of a let down in a book. I like to see the characters grow!

There was one point in the book where the main character, Alice, says out of the blue that she wants to go on a date with Tim. And I was sitting there thinking, well that came out of
nowhere. And then Tim acted like he saw it coming. The course of events seemed a little jumbled. We needed more time to see that happen.

Maybe I am just a little biased about this book because I was expecting too much, but I am definitely happy I read it.
That’s it! The book was lovely and I recommend it to any Fitzpatrick fans! A great contemporary, so pick it up and bring it to the beach with you.

XOXO, N

 

Leave a Reply

