Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Unknown-1.jpegEverything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week of junior year at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Goodreads

Happy Sunday Everyone!!

I hope you all are having a wonderful weekend! Last night I started reading Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum. I also finished reading Tell Me Three Things last night. Yes, I stayed up until 2 am reading this book. It was that good.

Here is what I loved:

The cover is absolutely beautiful. The waffles on the cover tie in wonderfully to the story, as well as the title. I do not think the title could have been chosen more perfectly. You will understand this once you read the book.

Have you ever seen the movie You’ve Got Mail? This book completely reminded me of that movie. The lighthearted conversations via email, the relationship between Jessie and Ethan. These things brought me back to such a great movie, and they made this book wonderfully enjoyable.

I also loved going back and forth throughout the book trying to figure out who SN (Somebody/Nobody) was. I always had a gut feeling about who SN was (I WAS RIGHT), but there where times that I found myself doubting SN’s identity. This mystery held me close to the book.

Most of you know that I like to have a takeaway from each book I read. Julie Buxbaum does a wonderful job in teaching her reading audience about the grieving process. In the story, Jessie has a hard time getting over the death of her mom. It also does not help that Jessie’s father married a woman who he met on the internet following the death of his wife. Jessie has to figure out what life looks like without her mom.

I really enjoyed the characters within the book. I usually have an easy time finding unlikeable characters within a novel; however, with this story I could not find a character that bugged me. YAY.

I really enjoyed the ending to this book. There are so many aspects and relationships that Jessie has in her life, and the book really left me at peace.

Part of the book is placed in Chicago, which is where I live. I really enjoyed reading about the place that I have lived my whole life.

What I disliked:

I have one complaint. There were one or two scenes that seemed unnecessary to the plot of the book that I found in the beginning. It didn’t completely bother me since both scenes were only a page long, but I still noticed that the scenes seemed out of place in the story.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. It was a really lighthearted, easy to read, yet INCREDIBLY enjoyable. I wish I could read it all over again for the first time (and stay up until 2 am reading it).

BTW, Jessie works in a bookstore named Book Out Below! I am not only completely impressed by such an original bookstore name, but I am absolutely jealous of Jessie working in a bookstore. This is my dream.

YOU ALL NEED TO READ THIS BOOK. now. If you could Tell Me Three Things of why you shouldn’t, I want to hear them (did you see what I did there!!).

I need some book recommendations, so please send any my way. Thanks for listening!!

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

