Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Unknown.png

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Goodreads

Happy Wednesday everyone!!

I hope you all had a great weekend! When I was on my flight home from Boston, I finished reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I started reading Fangirl with my book club two years ago, but never got around to finishing it. I picked up a copy of it in Boston, and I thought I would enjoy my plane ride with a Rainbow Rowell read.

I really loved reading this book. For those of you who are unaware, I read Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell two years ago and disliked it (I know, this may take you by surprise). I was apprehensive to pick up another book by Rainbow; so many people have fallen in love with Eleanor and Park, and I feared that the same thing would happen with Fangirl. 

But it didn’t, and here is why I loved this book:

Cath struggles throughout the book with feeling unwanted by her twin Wren. Cath is used to having Wren by her side, and this change seems to greatly impact Cath. I assimilated to Cath in the fact that sometimes I feel sort of clingy to N. I felt connected to Cath when she felt this way.

Rainbow has a gift for beautifully teaching her audience about mental illness. Cath suffers from anxiety, her dad suffers from depression, and Wren struggles with alcohol. Rainbow is able  to present the illnesses in a way that makes the struggle clear to readers who may not be familiar with these issues. I love a book that teaches me a lesson/concept, and this book most definitely did!

This book is really creative. I have never really known much about fan fiction, and it was so fun living through the eyes of a character who is consumed by reading and writing fan fiction! I loved the snippets of Simon Snow within the book.

More applause is granted to Rainbow Rowell because her characters are SO DAMN genuine! Her writing is incredibly authentic and beautiful. It takes good writing to make me cry, but this book surely did!

Lastly, the name selection between Cath and Wren was absolutely genius. Cath-Wren sounds like Catherine. Cath and Wren’s mom didn’t have two names (because they were twins) so she split Catherine in two and named the girls Cath and Wren. I wish my mom would have been more crafty when picking N & I’s name : (

I have never really read a book about twins; I thought it was really cool to understand Cath and Wren and how they felt.

What I disliked about the book:

There is nothing negative that I can pinpoint about this novel! I have a copy of Carry On by Rainbow Rowell on my bookshelf right now, and I cannot wait to dive into more Simon Snow stories!

Yet again, I want to proclaim how happy I am that I gave Rainbow Rowell a second chance after disliking Eleanor and Park. This book was phenomenal!

I would love to hear what you all think of this book!

Thanks for listening!!

Sincerely, K

Leave a Reply

