K’s June Wrap-Up

Happy Friday everyone!!

I know I am coming a bit late with this; I have not written to you all in a while now. Here is what I have been up to:

I went on a trip to the east coast. I plan on telling you all about my trip on another post:) I had a wonderful time.

I spent the last two weeks up at the lake working for my dad.  I have been doing a lot of reading, and I have been doing a lot of ACT/PSAT/SAT practice. These things have kept me away from you all. I have decided to take some time off of work to focus on getting ready for the school year, read, work on the blog, go to Starbucks, volunteer at the library, and SLEEP!!

It has been a couple of weeks since June, but when contemplating whether I should still post my June Wrap-Up, I thought, better late than never!!

IMG_0825_2.JPGI read 12 books in June. Not my best, but nowhere near my worst. I have decided for my first monthly Wrap-Up I am going to rank, to my best ability, my enjoyment of each book I read.

These are all of the books that I read excluding the ones I borrowed from friends/the library.

 

1)P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. I fell in love with Lara Jean in Jenny’s first book of the sequel (and soon to be trilogy… I cannot wait for Always and Forever Lara Jean). My love grew in this book. I am actually surprised I enjoyed the second book more than the first. On vacation, I was in a Lara Jean mood so I pulled out my iBook of P.S. I Still Love You after reading it earlier in June for the first time. LJ always seems to inspire me to try new things.

2)Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. Ruta Sepetys may be one of the most talented writers I have ever experienced reading from. This book is so beautifully written. I loved every aspect of the book: history, friendship, love, survival. Visit my review for more admiration of Ruta and this book.

3)Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. I love Morgan Matson’s books. I knew I had to read this one after reading some of her other books. I read this book in one night, and I do with many other books, but this one just felt different. If you want to read more of my love for this book, visit the review I posted.

4) To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. I have come to praise Jenny Han and her To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series for days. I could share with you all of my strong feelings for this series, but it would be much easier to visit my review of this book.

5) Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse. I really enjoyed this book. It combined two wonderful things: historical fiction and a mystery. This book marks yet another amazing read from June. I really enjoyed it. If I hadn’t read so many great books in June Girl in the Blue Coat would be higher on this list. I completely recommend this book, visit my review.

6) Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. I borrowed this book; therefore, it is not present in the picture. This book was so original. I could not set it down once I picked it up. This is a must read if you have not yet. I cannot wait for the movie adaptation!

7) The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson is yet another book she has written that I truly enjoyed. I read TUE earlier in the month of June; however, I still remember the book like it was yesterday. Visit my review for more info on this wonderful book.

8) The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian. I really was wanting to read something by Siobhan Vivian, and after reading The Last Boy and Girl in the World, I am so glad I did. I don’t know what it is about Siobhan’s writing, but it keeps me extremely connected to the story. My review explains my love for this book, so y’all better go visit it.

9)Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. I really enjoyed this book; however, I do not love this book as much as I love Ruta’s other books.The story was very different from what Ruta has written in her other books, so I was expecting something different. I am absolutely glad that I read this book; anything written by Ruta is something I will be reading. Visit my review for more of my insights.

10)The Last Star by Rick Yancey. I waited a 1.5 years to get ahold of the conclusion to The 5th Wave series. I really did enjoy reading this book, but I do not think it was a good conclusion. I really hate to say this because I LOVE The 5th Wave and wanted the ending to be wonderful. More of my thoughts are found at this book’s review.

11) City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I really wanted to love this book and continue to love the rest of the books in this series, but I didn’t. I am not going to break all of your hearts by explaining my disinterest, so if you want to know more about how I feel, visit my review.

12) The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. I picked up this book at BookCon hoping it would be wonderful. I did not post a review of this book because I had a hard time finding things I liked about this book. Not my favorite; I would not recommend this book, but that is just my opinion.

Dear June,

you have treated me well with many wonderful books. I spent a lot of my reading time with contemporary and historical fiction books. Thanks again!!

WHAT TO LOOK FORWARD TO DURING THIS MONTH and the future?!?!

I have been doing a lot of reading (as usual). It’s time to get excited!!

I want to start an instagram account for onebooktwogirls!! I follow a lot of bookstagrams on my personal account, but I would like to start a bookstagram for myself to post bookish things!!

I have always loved baking, and baking/cooking is a big part of my life. I want to find a space on this blog to share this part of my life. Is that something you would like?

Thanks for having patience during my leap of absence. I am nothing but happy to be back in my room writing to all of you. I have the rest of the summer off (I think), so I will be more available!!

Lots of love XOXO

Sincerely, K

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

