Front Lines by Michael Grant

Unknown

1942. World War II. The most terrible war in human history. Millions are dead; millions more are still to die. The Nazis rampage across Europe and eye far-off America.

The green, untested American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled—the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

But something has changed. A court decision makes females subject to the draft and eligible for service. So in this World War II, women and girls fight, too.

As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering. Not one expects to see actual combat. Not one expects to be on the front lines.

Rio, Frangie, and Rainy will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. They will fear and they will rage; they will suffer and they will inflict suffering; they will hate and they will love. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Goodreads

Hey everyone!

It has been a while since I have posted. Things are crazy for me during the summer, so I have a hard time finding the right day to post. That doesn’t mean that I haven’t been reading though:)!!!

I picked up Front Lines by Michael Grant at Bookcon this May, but I never got to read it until a week or so ago. If you don’t know anything about it, I will give you some background before I get into the YES and NO parts of the book…

The easiest way to explain this book is to tell you the question it answers and it is as follows:

***What would have happened if women were drafted into WWII?***

I love books that give insight to hidden topics. (AKA my love for Ruta Sepetys!!!) This book may have given me the most satisfaction while reading that I have ever had. (And as many of you know, that says A LOT.)

Front Lines follows three strong, determined, and unique young women who enlist into the war to better the front lines that our country had. The beauty of the novel is the narrow scope it had on WWII, but also the broad look it had because of the diverse and cultured woman it follows. Grant impresses the audience through Rio, Frangie, and Rainy with a sincere lens on the struggles women face being discriminated during the second war.

On to what I liked about the book:

Can I say everything?

The plot was very intriguing. Many readers see such a large book and instantly turn their eyes to an “easier” read, but the effortless prose Grant brings the reader instantly rakes away the length. Suddenly, I wanted MORE!

I also was very impressed with the subtlety of romance in the novel. With YA, there seems to always be such a large focus on romance, and in this novel, it is a foundation for the rest of the story, which I really enjoyed. It didn’t feel like I was drowning in it, but I liked the presence of it.

Also, I usually HATE when there are a bunch of perspectives and lean toward a specific protagonist through out the course of a novel, but I actually really enjoyed each character for different reasons.

Now, as many of you know, there is always something that I don’t like.

I didn’t really appreciate the way things were very open ended at the finish line of the novel. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I had a few questions about certain things that played out in the end.

That’s my only complaint. I will be headed to the bookstore soon to pick up another book from Grant, as I was thoroughly impressed.

Thanks again for waiting readers.

XOXO, N

 

 

Leave a Reply

