Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Unknown.jpeg

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough. Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a stranger? Um… 

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

Goodreads

Happy Monday everyone!!

I know for a lot of people, Mondays are not a favorite. I actually don’t mind Mondays that much. I especially don’t mind this Monday (today) for two reasons:

1) The Bachelorette is on (yes I’m a huge fan of the show)

2) Tomorrow my dad, N, and I leave for Boston!!  I absolutely fell in love with the city two years ago, so we are going back to visit some colleges on the East Coast (Harvard, Boston College, Brown, Yale, Dartmouth). I hope to keep in touch during the trip.

Anyway, I am about to divulge in my EXTREME LOVE of the book Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson. I read it up at the lake last week, and I have gone back to the book multiple times since I have finished it!!

I could talk about this book all day long. I could read this book 100 times over. I LOVE this book that much. Wanna know what made this book great for me?….

This book flows in such an amazing way. I felt that I was apart of the Emily, Frank, Collins, and Dawn’s friend group as I read the book. I constantly found myself trying to talk to them (obviously they did not respond haha).

This book and Morgan Matson’s other novels just seem so real. As an author, Morgan seems to create such authentic characters. I loved the balance between friendship, relationships, and family.

Whenever I read Morgan’s books, her characters are SO lovable!! First off, Emily is such a  sweetheart and I found myself assimilate with her throughout the entire book. Secondly, Frank Porter. Frank Porter. Frank Porter. I fell in love with him every time he spoke. I am not joking (okay maybe a little). Dawn was such a great friend, she was a lot of fun. And then there is COLLINS. I would definitely want to be friends with him. Case closed.

Do you ever get butterflies when you think about a specific book? This book gives me butterflies… and a big smile!!

What I disliked about this book:

There is an unanswered question at the end of the book. I do not wish to spoil anything for you, so I will keep my complaint simple. Aside from this, I was absolutely overjoyed by the ending.

My second complaint: Morgan, why have you not yet written a sequel to this book yet? You are killing me over here!

This book goes into a specific pile. The “I wish I could read this book over again for the first time” pile. I’m sure you all know what I am talking about.

Dear Morgan Matson, you continue to wow me as I read each and every one of your books. Thank you.

If you have not read Since You’ve Been Gone or any other Morgan Matson books, you need to stop what you are doing and head to the local bookstore. What an amazing book, what an amazing author.

Any recommendations y’all have for me (I would love to here them)?

Wish me luck in Boston (the countdown begins)!

Sincerely, K.

 

3 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

