The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian

IMG_0539.JPG

What if your town was sliding underwater and everyone was ordered to pack up and leave? How would you and your friends spend your last days together?

While the adults plan for the future, box up their possessions, and find new places to live, Keeley Hewitt and her friends decide to go out with a bang. There are parties in abandoned houses. Canoe races down Main Street. The goal is to make the most of every minute they still have together.

And for Keeley, that means taking one last shot at the boy she’s loved forever.

There’s a weird sort of bravery that comes from knowing there’s nothing left to lose. You might do things you normally wouldn’t. Or say things you shouldn’t. The reward almost always outweighs the risk.

Almost.

It’s the end of Aberdeen, but the beginning of Keeley’s first love story. It just might not turn out the way she thought. Because it’s not always clear what’s worth fighting for and what you should let become a memory

Goodreads

Happy Sunday!

During my time up at the lake this week, I read The Last Boy and Girl In the World by Siobhan Vivian. I captured this photo right after finishing the book. The weather in this picture seems really fitting to the weather in the book: a cloudy/rainy day (all day long).

I was really excited to dive into this book, being that it was my first Siobhan Vivian read. I really did enjoy this book; yet another fun-summer-read.

What I LOVED:

Siobhan Vivian creats a really unique plot behind very lovable characters. The idea behind having to leave your whole life behind so that the government can create a lake (on top of what used to be your house) is insane. I do not know what I would do if this ever happened to me, but Keeley’s emotions felt 100% authentic. I loved seeing her transition from being in denial of the situation to realizing what her life may become.

Keeley has a really fun relationship with Jesse, and throughout the book I was able to see a really cool change in how they see one another.

There is a slight plot twist toward the end of book; I hate to be a spoiler so I will keep this simple. The way I thought the book would come to an end was not what actually happens. If I knew the ending at the beginning of the book, I would not have been satisfied; however, reading the entire book through allowed me to really enjoy the ending.

What I disliked from the book:

I thought that Siobhan would make more out of the flooding disaster. I do not know if the book suffered because of this, but the disaster was something I was interested in before I started the book.

I would recommend this book to EVERYONE. The plot was genius, the characters felt outstandingly authentic, and I could go on and on about how much I truly enjoyed this book. I am making N read this book because I enjoyed it so much.

I will definitely be picking up another Siobhan Vivian book soon; what a talented author she is.

I was able to read multiple great books this past week up at the lake, so I will be posting more reviews of my  recent reading endeavors!!

Let me know what y’all think of this book.

Sincerely, K

Leave a Reply

