Out Of The Easy by Ruta Sepetys

images.jpegIt’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. 

She devises a plan to get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street. Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test.

Goodreads

Happy Sunday!!

I hope you all had a wonderful week, I spent the week up at the lake, yet again, and was able to do a lot of reading. I also am very excited to say that this upcoming week my dad has surprised N&I with a trip to the east coast! I hope I am able to do a bit of reading during the trip, but you never know what might happen.

One of the books I was able to read up at the lake was Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys.

Ruta is my absolute favorite author; I have read all three of her books. I fell completely in love with Between Shades of Gray and Salt to the Sea. When I dove into this book, I definitely set high standards.

What I enjoyed:

Historical fiction may be my favorite genre to read; when I picked up this book I knew I would be in for a great ride.

The plot was so unique; Ruta loves finding hidden history, and she definitely found a topic that most people are unaware of. I learned a lot from the story. Since Ruta is such a talented (and popular) author, she is able to teach so many readers about the history of our world.

Ruta develops her characters so wonderfully. Josie was such an authentic person, I felt so many emotions as I listened to her thoughts and aspirations. I love reading Ruta’s books because by the end I feel so extremely connected/invested in her characters.

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE Willie. Willie is the owner of the brothel; She fills in as a mother figure for Josie (due to Josie’s lack of a relationship with her mom). You would think that Willie being an owner of a brothel would make her a bad mother figure, but this is not the case. I love this contrast.

What I did not enjoy:

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely loved reading this book. I would give Ruta’s two other novels both 5 stars. This book I would give 4 stars. I think part of the reason why I did not enjoy the book as much is because I love WWII history. Ruta’s other novels are set in WWII; whereas, this novel is set in a completely different setting. I enjoyed reading something different from Ruta, but I did not enjoy the history in this book as much as I enjoyed the history/stories behind her other novels.

I was just a bit upset that this book was not as enjoyable for me when compared to Ruta’s other novels. I still enjoyed it, but I do tend to expect nothing but amazing from Ruta.

If you are a Ruta Sepetys fan, or you find the synopsis interesting, this is the book for you. If you love history, this may also be something worth reading.

I am glad to be back at my computer; I miss letting you all know what I’ve been up to lately.

I would love to hear your opinions on this book!

Thanks for listening,

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

