The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

17838528.jpgAndie had it all planned out. 

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. 

And where’s the fun in that?

Goodreads

Happy Friday everyone!!

Don’t worry, I have not gone missing. I spent the last week up at the lake. There was no service, no wifi, and an unlimited amount of time to read. So that is what I did, I read.

One of the books I read was The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson.

I really enjoyed this book. Here is what I LOVED:

Walking into the book, I thought it was going to be average. A book that I have read 100 times before. This definitely was not the case.

The idea of having a main character of a book be a politician’s daughter, during a scandal, is genius. Thank you Morgan Matson. I feel as though I really got to know Andie and how she felt being ignored by her father and his lifestyle.

The story behind Clark, Andie’s love interest, was super cool to me. He is barely an adult, yet he has a large following because of his writing and the movies created from his books.

The setting of the story fit perfectly with summertime! I love reading contemporary books during the summer, and I would definitely classify the story as a feel-good, contemporary read.

Now what I did not enjoy:

The book was more than 500 pages, which I do enjoy. When I started the book, I thought the reason for such a lengthy story was because there would be a lot of plot going on. What I noticed while reading the story is that the writing is very descriptive. I enjoyed most details; however, it did take me a while to get through the story because of all of Andie’s thoughts. I still am unsure if I enjoyed or disliked this aspect of the novel; therefore, I have placed my thoughts under “what I disliked.”

That is my only negative remark.

If I could read this book all over again, I would. It is such a lighthearted story; I absolutely LOVED IT!! I LOVED this book so much that I actually ran to the bookstore yesterday and picked up Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone. I am beyond excited to read another book from Morgan.

If you have any books similar to The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson, let me know (I would love to read more books like this one)!!

I am glad to be back in a wifi-zone blogging to all of you!!

Sincerely, K

 

 

Leave a Reply

