To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

IMG_0511.jpgIt’s Tuesday!

These past two days I have been drinking tea and reading Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You. One of the best ways to get rid of a cold (which I am currently fighting) is to drink tea,sleep,read,repeat.

For those of you who haven’t read these two books, you are sitting in the exact same seat I was sitting in a couple of days ago. I have heard such great things about this series, and when I knew I would be sitting in bed for a while trying to overcome a cold, I told myself that I would do what was needed: Go to my local bookstore and pick up a copy of both To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You. 

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You follow a girl named Lara Jean. Lara Jean has never had a boyfriend, but she has loved five boys throughout her life. Whenever Lara Jean has loved a boy, the only way she can end her feelings is to write a letter to them, so that is what she does. After she has written and addressed a letter, she puts it in her hatbox in her closet. Nobody is supposed to see these letters; however, one day the hatbox is gone, and every letter has been sent. Lara Jean doesn’t remember what she has written to each boy, but she knows that she has to get each letter back. Once the letters are sent out, the boys begin to find their way back to Lara Jean.

In the first book, Lara receives four of the five letters back. By the time P.S. I Still Love You comes around the corner, Lara Jean has finally found the boy she truly loves. When the boy who holds letter number five finds his way into her life, she comes to see that being in love with two people may be possible.

What I love about these two books (bc I really LOVE them):

Lara Jean has an amazing relationship with her two sisters, Margot and Kitty. Since their mom died when they were younger, the three sisters always knew they needed to have each other’s backs. They joke with each other, and they tell each other practically everything. I think I loved this sister-friendship aspect of the book because of my relationship with N. N&I always agree with each other that nobody, not even our parents, know each other like we do. We are best friends like Lara, Margot, and Kitty are best friends.

I love Lara Jean. She just seems to know who she is, and she isn’t afraid of not changing who she is in order to be with a boy. She loves baking, she has a great sense of style (I can tell from her constantly contemplating which outfit to wear), and she is so bubbly it is contagious.

These books are just examples of those feel-good, put-you-in-a-better-mood, super-adorable reads. When I think of Lara Jean and these books, I can’t help but smile!

Another wonderful thing about this book, the covers are SO PRETTY.

In these books, the relationships/friendships seem so real. Everything seems to click between Margot/Lara Jean/Kitty. Whenever Lara Jean and Peter spend time together, things just seem right. Josh seems to fit in perfectly with the Song Covey crowd.

The only thing I dislike about these books: Genevieve!! She always seems to be in the way; however, I understand that in order for a book to be a book, there is usually an antagonist.

If you haven’t read these books, you need to get your life in order and drop by the Bookstore/Library.

I cannot believe that the third book, Always and Forever, Lara Jean, Is coming out in the spring of 2017!! The countdown begins…

Let me know if you have any recommendations,

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

