N’s take on The Last Star

IMG_0998

Readers,

Our first dual review!!! Check out K’s
above…

K and I had the privilege to meet Rick Yancey, author of the New York Times Bestselling series The Fifth Wave, yesterday at his goodbye tour in Naperville, IL at Anderson’s Bookshop.

Anderson’s always does an awesome job with author meet and greets, as I have been to many of them, and Rick’s speech/Q&A session went above and beyond my expectations.

He spoke to the audience about his experiences about writing the series, and gave us a few fun facts about himself and the creation of the books.

  1. He wrote The Fifth Wave three times and The Infinite Sea twice!
  2. Ben Parrish was supposed to die in the first and second novel in the series, but his editor encouraged him to keep Ben around. (Thank GOD!)
  3. Sony Pictures is trying to figure out how much money they make from the Blu-ray DVDs before making the decision to create the second movie. (So go buy a bunch!)
  4. His wife, Sandy, inspired the character Cassie.
  5. His hardest character to write in first person was Evan which is why he wrote it in third person, and also Ringer because she closes herself off to others and herself.
  6. Oddly, he said it was the easiest to write through Cassie’s perspective even though he isn’t a girl. He said it was because Cassie was inspired by his wife which made him relate to her.

These were just a few of the things he touched on. I highly suggest taking advantage of signings with Rick because of his encouraging nature and comedic attitude. It was such a privilege to meet and speak with him!

Now on to The Last Star.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Goodreads

The last installment to the epic series follows the lives of the few who remain as they fight to finally terminate the Others. Cassie, Evan, Ben, Sammy, and the rest of the gang pledge to hang on to the little humanity they have left as they try to end the lives of the aliens who inhabited their land and their lives, even if they have to make sacrifices.

With many more battles to conquer, Cassie hopes to find peace for her brother Sam and the friends that have stood by her side. All questions are answered by the end of this tear jerker, so have a box of tissues near by and be ready to fight through the pages along with her.

What did I think about the book? Where do I begin?

The first thing that I have to say is that I finished the book a few days ago and couldn’t wrap my brain around what I though until now, and I am eager to tell you about it.

A few years ago when The Fifth Wave hit the stores, my book club chose this epic story to be the best YA book of the Year.

The Last Star doesn’t fall short of this.

From the Don Quijote references to the tears I shed through out the novel, I found myself feeling every emotion possible in the time I spent reading it.

Although the ending left me devastated, all of my eager questions were answered and I was impressed with the clarity it gave me. I had the chills as I read the last chapter.

The only complaint that I really have about the book is the ending. I assure you that you will shed more than a few tears when the book comes to a close. After throwing the book out the window from shock, anger, and sadness, you will go outside, pick it up, and give it a nice hug. Again, all of my emotions were brought to the table, or I guess in my case, the front lawn.

Applause goes out to Rick Yancey and all the people involved in the series. It’s a book series that has changed my thoughts on dystopian novels, as I am usually not a fan.

A definite recommendation to all readers, no matter the type.

Best, N

 

Leave a Reply

