K’s take on The Last Star (plus our signing with Rick Yancey!!)

IMG_0495

Happy Friday readers!!

Friday is my favorite day as it means I get all weekend to read!

This is N&I’s first dual review!! N’s review and take on meeting Rick Yancey is below mine.

Last night N&I went to Anderson’s Bookshop in Naperville to meet Rick Yancey, the author of  The Last Star (Book #3 of The 5th Wave series).

The event started off with Rick Yancey introducing himself and the new book. He made us all sad by reminding us that this is his farewell tour for the series. I almost shed a tear.

Rick then went on talking about the books, and how much work went into each book of the series. Rick said that Ben Parish was killed off in one of the first waves in the first book, but his editor made Rick keep Ben around. I think I like Rick’s editor (what would life be like without Ben Parish?!).

Rick also talked about the movie adaptation of The 5th Wave. He didn’t bash the movie, but you could tell that he would have made some changes to the movie if he could (I would have too)!

He randomly gave out The 5th Wave bags based on our numbers in line; unfortunately, #16 (my number) was not called. We then got in line for our books to be signed.

Rick was such a nice and ABSOLUTELY FUNNY person. When it was my turn in line, I was so nervous, but he calmed my nerves when I talked to him. I told him how much I enjoyed the last book (and the series as a whole), and N told him about how our book club named his book “Book of The Year.” He was surprised, and thanked us for enjoying his books.

I still am in such shock from realizing how normal, and HILARIOUS, Rick Yancey is. I’m telling you all, if you ever have the chance to meet him, please do. He is amazing.
Unknown

Now I would like to review the book.

They’re down here, they’re up there, they’re nowhere. They want the Earth, they want us to have it. They came to wipe us out, they came to save us.

But beneath these riddles lies one truth: Cassie has been betrayed. So has Ringer. Zombie. Nugget. And all 7.5 billion people who used to live on our planet. Betrayed first by the Others, and now by ourselves.

In these last days, Earth’s remaining survivors will need to decide what’s more important: saving themselves…or saving what makes us human.

Goodreads

The Last Star (The 5th Wave #3) by Rick Yancey was a good read, but not as good as I hoped it would be. This series has been a really big part of my life. I was expecting a great conclusion to a great series, but I felt that I received less than that.

What I liked about the book:

I felt at home while reading the books; Rick Yancey continued to portray each character authentically.

I enjoyed seeing the ending, along with which characters developed relationships.

What I did not like about the book:

The ending didn’t give me closure; you will understand when you finish the book (I don’t want to be a spoiler). For me there was one very big unanswered question.

Obviously, the series follows an apocalyptic world, which means not everyone can live. I hated to see certain characters end their lives; however, I understand why Rick Yancey chose the outcomes for each character.

The book didn’t have an incredibly original plot. Nothing “wowed” me when it came to the plot that Rick Yancey created.

I think I know the reason why I didn’t enjoy the book as much as I thought I would. The first book was AMAZING. I thought that the second book was not as amazing, but often times the second book of a series is my least favorite. I thought that the third book would be a spectacular conclusion. I hate to say it, but this was not the spectacular conclusion I was looking for.

If you enjoyed the first book (and series) as much as I did, reading the last book is something you should definitely do! If you did not enjoy the first book, this may not be very enjoyable.

All in all, I want to give a BIG THANKS to Rick Yancey for creating such an amazing story. You (and Cassie) inspire me to achieve greatness. I cannot wait to read more of your work!

This was quite the long blog. If you have made it all the way down here, thanks for listening to me ramble (I LOVE The 5th Wave)!!

Sincerely, K

 

Leave a Reply

