Me Before You

tumblr_nxeu7a32N51r5g3fdo1_1280

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Goodreads

Happy Monday (and Memorial Day) everyone!!

One of my favorite things to do is read books and then see the movie made from the book. I like to see the differences, and I also like to see how much better books are than their movies (For me that is usually the case). I realized that the book Me Before You by Jojo Moyes was being adapted into a movie, so I decided that I had to read the book before I saw the film.

The book follows a girl named Louisa Clark. Louisa lives a very normal life, at 26 years old she has been dating her boyfriend for seven years and lives with her parents. Louisa has lost her job, and the only available job is to take care of a man named Will Traynor who is quadriplegic (he is paralyzed in his legs and arms). Louisa walks into her job realizing how stubborn, depressed, and unmotivated Will is, yet she finds a way to break his bad attitude and build a worthwhile relationship with him.

I finished reading it yesterday, and I have to say that the book is as good as the hype surrounded by it. I stayed up until 2am to finish it; I just couldn’t put it down.

I loved how beautiful the book was written. Jojo Moyes did an incredible job building the characters and creating such a wonderful bond between Will and Lou. Sometimes when I read books, the relationships do not seem real. This relationship felt completely real.

This book, like many others I have enjoyed, touches on both humor and love. Not many writers have the ability to create such a beautiful story.

I hope for those of you that have not read the book, you will soon read it. When I finished the book, I felt the same way as I felt when I finished The Fault In Our Stars. I cannot wait to see the movie!!

Thanks for listening,

Sincerely, K

 

 

Leave a Reply

