Infinite In Between

Unknown

 

The Breakfast Club meets Boyhood in this striking young adult novel from Printz Honor author Carolyn Mackler, which chronicles the lives of five teenagers through the thrills, heartbreaks, and joys of their four years in high school.

Zoe, Jake, Mia, Gregor, and Whitney meet at freshman orientation. At the end of that first day, they make a promise to reunite after graduation. But so much can happen in those in-between years. . . .

Zoe fears she will always be in her famous mother’s shadow. Jake struggles to find the right connections in friendship and in love. Mia keeps trying on new identities, looking for one that actually fits. Gregor thought he wanted to be more than just a band geek. And Whitney seems to have it all, until it’s all falling apart around her.

Goodreads

Happy Sunday!

I finished reading Infinite In Between by Carolyn Mackler yesterday!

The book follows five teens throughout all four years of high school. The five main characters (Zoe, Jake, Mia, Gregor, and Whitney) are all put in the same orientation group at the beginning of freshman year. Each person in the orientation group has to write themselves a letter for after graduating high school. They all may seem like very different people; however, their paths are all somehow connected. This book has a little of everything: friendship, love, identity, tragedy (you get the point!).

I want to start off with what I liked about the book:

The characters all had major issues in their lives that differed from one another; meaning the book covered a lot of material. I liked learning so much about so many different kids.

The book reminded me of a TV show that follows many characters: Let’s say something crazy happened to Gregor. You had to wait until after Zoe, Mia, Jake, and Whitney got their own chapter to resolve what happened to Gregor. I was always at the edge of my seat!!

I really liked the book because of the setting: a big high school town. I go to a REALLY big high school and the plot really seemed fitting to my life; the book was relatable in so many ways. I also enjoyed watching the characters develop throughout high school.

What I did not enjoy from the book:

The ending seemed a bit expected. It is not that I was unhappy with the ending; however, I felt like it didn’t come together in a way that was super cool.

While reading the book, I had a hard time keeping track of all five characters over the span of 4 years. Since the book is a span of four years, the author seemed forced to quickly move through the time (Don’t get me wrong, I really thought the idea of having the book span four years to be pretty cool!).

If you are looking for a feel-good read this summer, this is the book to pick up. I previously read I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (It is one of my MOST FAVORITE books), and Infinite In Between is a book that brings me back to such a good read. This may not be the best book I have ever read, but I do recommend it if you are looking for something fun!

Thanks for listening, if you have any book recommendations I would love to hear them,

Sincerely, K

Leave a Reply

